Love…true love

The Impressive Clergyman from The Prince Bride

“And wuv, tru wuv, will fowow you foweva… The impressive clergyman from the Princess Bride said it perfectly.  However, in my humble opinion, it is love that brings us together every day, and not Mawage(AHEM)marriage. It might be your love, whether of food, family, significant other, cat videos, or various in sundry other things, or the love you can witness from someone else. Little acts of love, conscious or accidental, are experienced by everyone every day, only we’re just usually too busy to notice. My intent is to scour the web, the newspapers, my daily life, and my love struck brain to bring a little bit of love to your life. After all, love is what brings us together.

Why am I obsessed with love? To be harsh, I could say I want what I don’t have (be honest, who doesn’t?) Also, I could say that I grew up more involved in the books I was reading than in my own life, and that I may or may not have a twisted and unrealistic view of what love is or should be (be honest, who doesn’t??)  I could cite the epic turn of events that caused Valentine’s day to become my favorite holiday and how I manipulated it to be a day to show your love to all, but I’ll probably save that for later. Why I’m really obsessed with love would probably be my parents.

 

Mom and Dad sharing their Butterbeer

 

For my generation, sadly, it’s more of a surprise to find out someone’s parents are still together, than to find out their parents are divorced(and remarried and divorced, etc). So to find two people like my parents who have been together since the 7th and 8th grade (they broke up once I think) is a very special thing. Middle school sweethearts…. eat your heart out high school and college! But it’s not just how long they have been together, which is a lot more than their nearly 25 years of marriage, it is how perfectly they seem to fit together. That’s what I think really did me in.

As wonderful as it is that my parents are still together, and so happy, it has, in a way, cursed my older sister and me. We will not rest or settle down until we find what they have, and thus we have EXTREMELY high expectations. The epitome of a gift and a curse: I won’t settle for anything less than I want/deserve, but I will be alone in a crowd, or apartment, full of couples until I find the one.

So to warm me up on the long, cold, winter nights alone, and all of the other ones too, I obsess about love. Fictional or factual, true or puppy, young or old. I’ll leave you with one of my favorite quotes:

“True love does not come by finding the perfect person, but by learning to see an imperfect person perfectly.”

Here’s to hoping my posts bring a little love into your life until you find the REAL one. ❤

December 12, 2011. Every day life.

3 Comments

  1. Christine V replied:

    i like you. i like this.

    no, wait…I LOVE IT!

    I will read all the time.

  2. Bruce Williams replied:

    Luv u sweetey! Great start to your blog. Sorry Mom and I set the bar so high for you girls.
    Luv, Dad

  3. Tammy replied:

    Ahhh, the joys of love. I had the pleasure of participating in the courtship of your wonderful parents. They are much more experienced in marriage than we are…by a few months. I am thrilled, and a little frightened, that you have inherited their wit and their panache for storytelling. Awesome blog. I’ll happily read your odyssey to find wuv. Good wuck!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

