Who knew peanut butter could be prophetic?

You're a good man, Charlie Brown

“Nothing spoils the taste of peanut butter like unrequited love.” Charlie Brown has yielded many gems of childlike wisdom, but for me, this one truly hits home. For one thing, peanut butter has a VERY strong taste, giving the, correct, assumption that unrequited love leaves you with a bad taste in your mouth. Random fact and interesting trivia for the curious mind, an interesting website, reported 52 fascinating facts about love, one of which was take from a book called General Theory of Love. “Scientists that most people will fall in love approximately seven times before marriage.” Which leads me to wonder, how many times are mutual love and how many times are unrequited? The movie the Holiday opens with a wonderful quote about different types of love, but because of its length, I’ll only post the part that is pertinent. “And then, there’s another kind of love: the cruelest kind. The one that almost kills its victims. Its called unrequited love. Of that I am an expert. Most love stories are about people who fall in love with each other. But what about the rest of us? What about our stories, those of us who fall in love alone? We are the victims of the one sided affair. We are the cursed of the loved ones. We are the unloved ones, the walking wounded. The handicapped without the advantage of a great parking space!”

Hard to believe any of these guys would have trouble finding love

In my very short love life, since about the age of 15, I have become a master of unrequited love. I want what I can’t have, remember? To clarify, when I say unrequited love I mean being in love, or caring about someone who KNOWS how you feel, but doesn’t return your feelings. I’m rather…impatient. I’m also very stubborn, which anyone who knows me can confirm. These two characteristics combine to make me go after what I want and to be open about my feelings. So unlike some people who keep their feelings a secret, I don’t really believe in dirty laundry, and I nearly always come clean. However, unlike those people who never admitted their feelings, I have closure. Learning that I wasn’t, and probably wouldn’t ever be, the object of their affection did hurt, I actually asked several young men to dances and was politely refused. But instead of pining over a guy who obviously wasn’t worth it(you know, because I’m awesome and he can’t see it), I was able to pint-it-up with my friends Ben and Jerry and then move on. If there is one thing in my life I won’t ever regret, it’s that in the game of love, I took chances. I was willing to put my heart on the line for the chance to find something real. And that’s the positive side of truly unrequited love….it gives you a thicker skin and the chance to move on to someone who truly deserves you. And, in the immortal words of the father from the movie Juno, “The right person is still going to think the sun shines out of your ass.”

Random facts and interesting trivia for a curious mind 

Lewis, Thomas, M.D.; Fari Amini, M.D.; and Richard Lannon, M.D. 2000. A General Theory of Love. New York, NY: Random House.

December 13, 2011. Every day life.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

